Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley Highlights Progress With OCTA Zero Emission Bus Fleet Study

ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA — Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley released a statement following this week’s Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) Board meeting where the Board received updates on OCTA’s zero-emission bus pilot program. Recent findings show promising prospects with battery-electric buses, the differences in technology, and the various costs to operate and maintain the fleet.

“Orange County remains ahead of the state and other transportation agencies toward our goals,” said Supervisor Foley. “We must continue to take every step we can to ensure the next generation has clean air to breathe, and access to clean air transportation. I hope this program can be successfully implemented and expanded to eventually replace all fuel-driven buses in the OCTA fleet and eliminate public transportation emissions completely in Orange County.” 

The OCTA Board approved the purchase of 10 hydrogen fuel-cell electric buses and 10 plug-in battery-electric buses in 2020 to explore options for the eventual transition to a complete zero-emission bus fleet.


Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley was elected to the Board of Supervisors in 2022 to represent the newly established District 5, which includes the cities of Aliso Viejo, Costa Mesa, Dana Point, a large portion of Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Newport Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, as well as the unincorporated areas of Coto de Caza, Emerald Bay, Ladera Ranch, Las Flores, Rancho Mission Viejo, Stonecliffe and Wagon Wheel. This is her second term on the Board of Supervisors, where she previously served District 2.

Supervisor Foley serves on the Airport Ad Hoc Committee & Fly Friendly working group, the Sober Living Home Ad Hoc Committee, and boards of the Orange County Transportation Authority, CalOptima, Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council, Law Library, Newport Bay & South Orange County Watershed Management Area Executive Committees & the Santa Ana River Flood Control Protection.