Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley and the OCTA Board Approve the Use of Low Carbon Transit Operations Program Funds in Support of the Youth Ride Free Program and the Bravo! Main Street Corridor

Orange County, CA – Today, Orange County Transit Authority (OCTA) Director and Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley, announced the approval of low Carbon Transit Operations initiatives for OC Bus Transit Projects. Specifically, Supervisor Foley and the OCTA Board voted to authorize the use of $8,633,000 in Low Carbon Transit Operations Program funds for the Youth Ride Free Program, along with $1,553,772 in fiscal year 2021-22 Low Carbon Transit Operations Program funds for the Bravo! Rapid Bus which will serve Main Street and the OC Bus Route 53/553 corridor along an 8.4-mile stretch in Santa Ana, Orange, and Anaheim. The new line will begin in October of 2022 as a limited-stop service that covers the area. 
"Advancing greener, cleaner energy initiatives remains a top priority for my office. Encouraging a public transit going culture is key, especially as we transition our fleet to electric and add rapid bus routes. Our OCTA team works hard to improve transit ridership throughout Orange County,” said Supervisor Foley. “Residents can enjoy safe, reliable transportation to school, work, appointments, and to recreate through our County’s Youth Ride Free Program that offers free bus passes for ages 6-18. The new BRAVO! route will provide rapid limited stop transit which helps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Funding projects like these, that encourage use of our public transit system, helps reduce our carbon footprint and greenhouse gas emissions now and into the future.”


Orange County Supervisor Katrina Foley joined the Board of Supervisors in 2021. She serves on the Airport Ad Hoc Committee & Fly Friendly working group, and boards of the Orange County Transportation Authority, CalOptima, Juvenile Justice Coordinating Council, Law Library, Newport Bay & South Orange County Watershed Management Area Executive Committee & Santa Ana River Flood Control Protection Agency.